Half-day Bangkok city tour seems like an Eiffel Tower-less Paris trip

According to a brochure given at the entrance, this Golden Buddha "is made of pure gold"
According to a brochure given at the entrance, this Golden Buddha "is made of pure gold"

Four years after my trip to Bangkok, I’m still wondering why the iconic Wat Arun was not included in our half-day city tour. (See Wat Arun photos on Flickr)

Our tour guide did take us to the Golden Buddha or Sukhothai Traimit, which, according to a brochure, weighs about five tons and is more than 700 years old.

“It is a valuable symbol of Thailand and of Buddhism,” the brochure stated.

That image amazed me, because it still looked shiny and new despite its age.

After the Golden Buddha visit, the tour guide took us to another temple and to a jewelry shop.

That was it. The half-day city tour was over.

Someday

I can't even remember the name of this temple
I can't even remember the name of this temple

I know, I could have just gone to Wat Arun myself.

I still had lots of time anyway after the half-day city tour. I had the entire afternoon and evening and the following day to see it.

But being one of the greatest sights in the capital of Thailand, if not the greatest, shouldn’t Wat Arun be included in all tours, no matter how short?

It was like going to Paris and not seeing the Eiffel Tower.

If ever I return to the so-called “City of Angels,” my first agenda would be to see that temple.

One thought on “Half-day Bangkok city tour seems like an Eiffel Tower-less Paris trip

Leave a Reply

