Hong Kong Disneyland is too hot to handle

Some used umbrellas to protect themselves from the intense sunlight
Some used umbrellas to protect themselves from the intense sunlight

Disneyland is supposed to be “The Happiest Place on Earth.”

Maybe the Disneylands in temperate USA and Japan are, but not the one in “subtropical” Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Disneyland was more like “The Hottest Place on Earth” when my mother and I went there in June 2007.

Blistering

The Hong Kong Observatory website did say that during that part of the year, Hong Kong is “hot and humid,” and that “afternoon temperatures often exceed 31 degrees Celsius.”

I live in a tropical country, but even that did not prepare me for the searing heat in Hong Kong Disneyland.

I believe the temperature did go above 31 degrees Celsius. I touched my hair and it was so hot, and my back was sweating like hell. Too bad I didn’t bring an extra shirt.  

Squinting made my already small eyes smaller
Squinting made my already small eyes smaller

The sunlight was so intense I could barely open my eyes for the routine picture taking that comes with traveling.

It was so hot I wanted to leave right away and return to our air-conditioned hostel room.

But of course, the 295 Hong Kong dollar-entrance fee (about US$38) per person prevented me from doing that.

I didn’t want to waste my hard-earned money. I must try to have some fun.

Enjoying… a bit

There were few rides in Hong Kong Disneyland. We only tried one, the carousel, which provided us some shade and therefore, some relief.

Mickey MouseOne of the saving graces of that trip was a 3D movie about the adventures of Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and the rest of the gang.

It was my first time to wear 3D glasses.

At the end of the film, water was sprinkled on the audience. The water seemed to have come from the screen, but of course that wasn’t the case.

The finale made me feel like a part of the show.

Another good thing about that trip was the picture taking with some Disney characters.

I patiently waited in line to have my photo taken with Mickey Mouse, who was then in a pirate costume.

PlutoWe were about to leave when we saw Pluto, who, unlike Mickey Mouse, was wearing a name tag. Maybe it was meant to differentiate him from Goofy.

Worth visiting

Overall I think Hong Kong Disneyland is worth visiting.

My main complaint was about the temperature, but then again, that was not something that the theme park could control.

Just go there in November or December, when temperatures are hopefully lower.

Leave a Reply

