Author of political economy of media book replies to my email

BooksThis week I received an unexpected email from Robert W. McChesney, author of the 2008 book “The Political Economy of Media: Enduring Issues, Emerging Dilemmas.”

I never thought that a busy scholar like him would take the time to read an email from a total stranger and even reply to it. I felt really honored.

I emailed McChesney to thank him for writing the enlightening and entertaining book. I’ve rediscovered the joy of reading because of it.

Yes, I do read lots of stuff. Every day I read articles from various websites. Sometimes, I also read newspapers and magazines.

But reading a book is a totally different experience. It requires quite a long attention span from an individual.

The focus needed to read a book, and more importantly, understand its contents, has enabled me to engage in self-reflection and find some quiet moments for myself.

One thought on “Author of political economy of media book replies to my email

Leave a Reply

