Dog displaced by typhoon seeks refuge in my room

Ganda is a Filipino term for beauty
Ganda is a Filipino term for beauty

I have a furry, four-legged guest who’s currently staying in my room.

She’s Ganda, the dog of my sister’s parents-in-law, whose house in a Manila suburb was messed up by typhoon Ondoy (international name Ketsana) over the weekend.

The floodwater has receded, but my sister said it could take at least a month to clean up and repaint the house.

That means her parents-in-law, along with their dog, couldn’t live there for at least a month.

People can stay in hotels, but their pets can’t. That’s why Ganda is staying in our house, in my room to be exact.

Memories

I first met Ganda in December last year, when my mother, sister, brother-in-law and his parents had dinner in the Marikina City house to celebrate the birth of Christ.

She was such a carefree dog then. She even played with me, and treated me like I was her long-lost master. And it was our first meeting.

She's camera shy
She's camera-shy

Now, she just stays under the bed most of the time.

It seems I’m looking at a different dog.

She has definitely changed a lot since I first saw her nine months ago.

Perhaps the sight of the rising floodwater has terrified her. Or maybe it’s because she misses her masters. Or she’s probably trying to understand what’s happening around her.

Whatever the reasons are, I hope to see the energetic and playful Ganda again.

And I hope that she feels at home in my room.

One thought on “Dog displaced by typhoon seeks refuge in my room

Leave a Reply

