Pieces of the Philippines in Paris

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw “pieces” of the Philippines during my one-day stay in Paris in November last year.

I didn’t expect to see anything that would remind me of the Philippines while I was there, for Paris and Manila are about 10,750 kilometers away from each other.

The “discoveries” were serendipitous. After all, I didn’t look for them. I just saw them by chance.

Eiffel Tower

The first piece was on Eiffel Tower itself.

Up to now I’m not 100 percent sure what it was all about, but it showed a picture of a bridge in the Philippines that was designed by Gustave Eiffel, the brains behind the iconic French tower that bears his name.

It says: “1890 – Santa Cruz de la Laguna bridge, Manila”

The Wikipedia article about Gustave Eiffel did list the Quezon Bridge in Manila as one of the many works of Eiffel.

However, I couldn’t find anything saying that the Santa Cruz de la Laguna Bridge and Quezon Bridge are the same thing, with different names.

But what are the chances that Eiffel built two bridges in Manila? I’m guessing that it’s the same bridge.

Pictures

I found the second piece in an area along the Seine River, while on my way from the Eiffel Tower to the Louvre.

There was a photo exhibit in the place, where I saw pictures taken by a certain Jake Verzosa.

Yup, part of the Eiffel Tower is visible from that spot

I took pictures of Verzosa’s pictures (hmmm, it’s like photocopying the photocopy of something), but I don’t think I can post them here.

Anyway, what really matters is the thought that home is really just around the corner, even if I’m in a city that seems to be light-years away from it.

2 thoughts on “Pieces of the Philippines in Paris

Leave a Reply

