The Philippines comes to Shanghai

 

It’s a place like no other in Shanghai, China: the clothes, the food, the language, everything there was so familiar to me. 

But of course, it’s the Philippines Pavilion at the Shanghai World Expo 2010. 

It seemed I had cut short my trip to Shanghai and returned to the Philippines right away. 

Clothes 

 

The “I am Ninoy, I am Cory” t-shirts reminded me of the victory of Senator Noynoy Aquino in the May 10 Philippine presidential election. 

Noynoy is the only son of Ninoy and Cory, both of whom are considered icons of democracy in the Philippines (Read my post about the death of Cory last year)

Food 

Travel Cafe Philippines offered (surprise, surprise!) Filipino food. 

I was quite relieved to eat familiar food, because I’m not really gastronomically adventurous. 

The food was a bit pricey though. 

Everything in the picture below (plus the drinks that aren’t seen) cost 160 renminbi or about 23 US dollars. I know a place in Shanghai where a delicious and nutritious meal for two persons only costs 25 renminbi. 

 

Well, it’s okay. How many times would I get the chance to eat Filipino food in Shanghai? 

Language 

I encountered absolutely no language barrier while ordering food. 

The young worker told my mother that she's from Quezon City

The people working at the Travel Cafe were Filipinos. Probably only one of them wasn’t, and up to now I still have this feeling that she just made fun of me. 

 

Elsewhere inside the pavilion, the Filipino word “hilot” (traditional Philippine massage) was displayed prominently. It was something that my legs really needed at the time. 

At the World Expo 2010, the Philippines is indeed in Shanghai. And many visitors are coming to see what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

