UST celebrates 400th anniversary

This month there’s another “Royal” event that will take place aside from the much-awaited Royal Wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton in the UK – the 400th anniversary of the Pontifical and Royal University of Santo Tomas (UST) in Manila, Philippines.

I never studied at UST, but it will always be a significant part of my life because I lived in the vicinity of the university for almost two decades.

Whenever someone asked me where I lived, I always replied: “Near UST.” It’s a landmark like no other in that part of Manila, a prominent reminder of the more than three centuries of Spanish colonization of the Philippines.

2 thoughts on “UST celebrates 400th anniversary

Leave a Reply

