Missing Singapore-style safety

Singapore MRT

One thing I miss the most about Singapore is having that feeling of safety – you can use your iPhone and other expensive gadgets on trains and not worry about being the apple of the eye of criminals.

The authorities in Singapore are quick to say though that “low crime doesn’t mean no crime.”

I agree. But when I was in the squeaky clean city-state, I felt that I could lower my guard a little bit.

Manila

Why am I writing this article? Well, a pickpocket took my cellphone at a train station in Manila yesterday.

I wasn’t the only victim. A 26-year-old seafarer and his wife raised hell when they realized they had lost their cellphones. The commotion that ensued was one helluva scene.

To cut the long story short, a suspected pickpocket was arrested. It’s obvious that the guy had cohorts who were able to get away with the loot.

Singapore

Singapore

After that incident, I couldn’t help but wonder: How does Singapore do it?

I really don’t know the answer, but at this point, what I do know is that I’m longing for Singapore-style safety.

3 thoughts on “Missing Singapore-style safety

  1. Sorry to hear about your bad experience. Did you get your cellphone back when the police arrested the thief or had his helpers gotten away with it already?
    Are you back in Manila for good?

Leave a Reply

