Pros and cons of Samsung Galaxy Y as a mobile blogging device

I went to a mall last Wednesday to test my Samsung Galaxy Y as a mobile blogging or reporting device. Here are the pros and cons of the phone, based on my experience:

Pros

1. Size. No one would ever think that you’re actually blogging. Samsung Galaxy Y is neither a laptop nor a tablet, so you wouldn’t attract attention when you’re using it.

2. Battery. The battery performance of Samsung Galaxy Y was quite impressive. The battery had 92 percent of its charge remaining when I began blogging. After heavy usage (3G, blogging, taking a picture and a video), the battery had 89 percent of its charge remaining.

Cons

1. WordPress app. This isn’t a criticism of the phone itself, but remember, a smartphone like Samsung Galaxy Y is as good as the apps that can be used on that device. This is also not a criticism of WordPress.

I was actually thrilled to find out that the WordPress app allows users to instantly take photos and videos.

As the picture at the right shows, the WordPress app allows users to “Take a new photo” and “Take a new video.” So I did.

Unfortunately, the published post about moblogging (mobile blogging) only showed the picture. The video wasn’t there.

I thought of editing the post to include the video, but I decided not to push through with it because I couldn’t find an HTML editor on the WordPress app. Therefore, I couldn’t embed the video.

Anyway, here’s the video that I was supposed to include in the moblogging blog post:


Apparently, the WordPress app for Android is limited compared with the app for iPad and the Windows desktop version. Or maybe, I’m not yet adept at using the Android app.

2. Size. It was difficult to type on the small virtual keyboard. I found myself constantly tapping the backspace key to delete typing errors.

But then again, it’s not the phone’s fault that I’ve got big fingers. If I’m not mistaken, Samsung Galaxy Y (Y stands for “Young”) was made with young people in mind.

The verdict

Samsung Galaxy Y as a mobile blogging or reporting gadget has so much potential. It’s really just a matter of improving the apps available to users.

The best thing about Samsung Galaxy Y is that it’s not a “high-end” phone. You can enjoy blogging on the go without spending too much money.

One thought on “Pros and cons of Samsung Galaxy Y as a mobile blogging device

Leave a Reply

