Coin collection revisited

I sifted through my coin collection today to look for duplicates that I can give to my co-worker who also collects coins.

Here are the duplicates:

To make it easier for me to spot the duplicates, I grouped the coins according to their places or origin: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Europe, Oceania and countries that use Arabic script.

There’s a separate group for Arabic-speaking countries because I don’t understand Arabic. I needed to consult several websites to find out the countries of origin of some coins.

In spite of my efforts, I still can’t pinpoint the country/countries of origin of three coins:

Obverse
Obverse
Reverse
Reverse

They’re most likely from Libya, Egypt or Syria, but I can’t really tell for sure. Several websites that I consulted gave conflicting information. Others were downright clueless.

If you understand Arabic, please help me identify those coins.

Anyway, as I examined the coins in my collection, I realized that they’re not just coins. They’re pieces of history as well.

The picture below shows three coins from countries that no longer exist:

From left to right: USSR, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia
From left to right: USSR, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia

Meanwhile, the picture below shows coins that have been replaced by new ones because of the introduction of a new currency:

Several European currencies have been replaced by the single currency Euro. (Left: old coins; Right: Euro coins)
Several European currencies have been replaced by the single currency Euro. (Left: old coins; Right: Euro coins)
Leave a Reply

