Thoughts on Philippine basketball

BallGazillions of Filipino males play basketball. I should know. I’m one of them.

But I can say right now that I’m not good at it. I only play it because it’s the only exercise I know that makes me sweat like hell.

Lots of the other guys play basketball for different reasons though. I won’t discuss those reasons here, because I don’t really care.

What I do care about is this nagging question: Despite the overwhelming numbers of Filipinos who play basketball, why hasn’t no one – repeat, no one – made it to the NBA?

It can be argued that basketball is the tall man’s sport. I agree. Height is indeed might in that sport. But not always. I’ve been beaten by high school kids much shorter than me. And I’ve also beaten six-foot-tall guys.

A website I’ve seen lists Filipino men as among the shortest in the world – with an average height of about 5’4”.

I’m thinking of Muggsy Bogues. It’s not really about the height.

What’s the answer to my question? I don’t have a definitive one, but I do have a pretty good idea of what the average Filipino basketball player is like. I’ll talk about it in my blog post tomorrow.

One thought on “Thoughts on Philippine basketball

Leave a Reply

