Koreans love basketball

Ichon

Ichon

South Korea dominated basketball in the 2014 Incheon Asian Games, and now that I’m in its capital Seoul, I think I know the reason behind its success: Koreans love basketball.

I’ve been to several Asian countries and I noticed that soccer is much more popular than basketball in those places. In Singapore, for example, I’ve seen boys playing soccer at basketball courts.

Today I went to Ichon Hangang Park to play basketball. I wasn’t expecting anyone to be there, because it’s a Monday. Anyway, I played by myself.

On my way back to the subway station, I noticed some kids playing basketball at a half court:

Yesterday I went to the Ttukseom Resort Han River Park, which has two basketball courts. There were four half court games taking place when I was there:

I think that when it comes to basketball passion in Asia, it’s the Koreans who are the rivals of Filipinos.

One thought on “Koreans love basketball

  1. Pingback: Seoul’s Yeouido District has it all | LPG

Leave a Reply

