Day 1: My 2nd time in Paris

(September 11, 2016, Sunday) The Hong Kong to Munich flight was about 12 hours long. Then we had a layover of about 3 1/2 hours in Munich.

sunrise

Sunrise in Munich, as seen from the airport

Compared to the looooong Hong Kong to Munich flight, the journey from Munich to Paris was a breeze. Lasting only about 1 1/2 hours, the flight felt like I just flew from Manila to Hong Kong.

Upon arrival at the Charles de Gaulle Airport in Paris, I was surprised that we didn’t have to pass through immigration and customs. One thing I learned: documents would be checked at the first point of entry in the Schengen area. In our case, it was Munich.

My sister was already waiting outside the arrivals area. The three of us (the other one being my mom) rode a taxi that would take us to a flat in Paris. It would be our home until Friday.

Our flat offered an in-your-face view of Sacre Coeur. I didn’t see it the first time I was in Paris way back in 2009, despite efforts to find it. Now all I had to do was look out of the window to see it.

sacre-coeur

View of Sacre Coeur from our flat

After sleeping for like a couple of hours, I went out of the flat together with my mom and sister to explore Sacre Coeur and its surroundings. It was easy because all we had to do was cross the street to reach the church.

sacre-coeur-1

sacre-coeur-2

sacre-coeur-3

Leave a Reply

