Day 5: The first-timer of Notre Dame

(September 15, 2016, Thursday) We returned to Musee de L’Orangerie today because the “scarf” that my mom had bought yesterday wasn’t actually a scarf, but a pillowcase. We got the scarf in exchange for the pillowcase and the price difference between the two items.

musee-de-lorangerie-medallionI bought a medallion to remember the museum by.

Our next stop was the Notre Dame Cathedral, which I hadn’t seen the first time I was in Paris, in 2009.

notre-dame-1

st-john-paul-ii
A statue of St. John Paul II can be found on the right side of the Notre Dame Cathedral (if you’re facing the Cathedral)

We didn’t do many things today because I would fly to Rome tomorrow, while my mom and my sister would fly to Stockholm. We needed to prepare our stuff.

It’s bittersweet, because I had to leave Paris’ lovely Montmartre area. But tomorrow I would see Rome and the Vatican City, something that I had wanted to do the first time I went to Europe in 2009.

I took pictures of Sacre Coeur in Montmartre for the last time. Well, the last time that Sacre Coeur would be so close.

sacre-coeur

I also bought a Sacre Coeur medallion as a souvenir.sacre-coeur-medallion

flat
Where our flat is

As I prepared for tomorrow’s flight to Rome, I learned that French traffic controllers were on strike, resulting in several flight cancellations. My Ryanair flight wasn’t cancelled, but I continued to monitor the situation.

view
I tried hard to take a picture of Sacre Coeur from our flat
silhouette
Sacre Coeur and my silhouette
One thought on “Day 5: The first-timer of Notre Dame

Leave a Reply

