Day 12: Paris’ La Defense has lowest density of selfie sticks

(September 22, 2016, Thursday) We had been crisscrossing Europe for the past six days, with the entire family visiting Brussels, Geneva and Barcelona, and yours truly traveling solo in Rome/Vatican City and Amsterdam.

It was fun but we all had to rest at some point. That was what we did today. We also had to transfer to a different Airbnb flat today so the itinerary was pretty empty.

But before leaving for the new flat, which was closer to the Eiffel Tower, I went to Paris’ business district called La Defense.

wp-image-1943794029jpg.jpg

When I was there I felt that I was the only tourist, and all the other people were busy going about with their daily routines. I was the only one holding a selfie stick. It was a breath of fresh air in one of the most visited cities in the world.

wp-image-1965008932jpg.jpg

La Defense’s most prominent feature, the Grande Arche, was under renovation at that time. Of course because of that I wasn’t satisfied with the picture, but I was still happy to see that side of Paris that I hadn’t seen before.

dsc_1384.jpg

Leave a Reply

