Day 1: Flew from Manila to Taipei; dealt with long lines everywhere

I liked Taipei so much that I returned just a month after my very first visit here, in April.

But flying from Manila to Taiwan’s capital was tiring. The flight itself was only about one hour and 40 minutes, but I had to deal with loooooooong lines practically everywhere – from the check-in counter and immigration in Manila, to the immigration in Taipei.

The pic below shows the line to get the boarding pass. Looked like two lines, eh? That was the same line:

Our flight was delayed due to the “immigration congestion” in Manila, something that China Airlines apologized for like three times. It wasn’t the airline’s fault – I saw the long and winding line myself.

Good thing I hadn’t hired a private car to pick me up at the airport; the driver would have waited too long for me.
I rode the new Taoyuan Airport MRT express instead. The fare was 160 New Taiwan Dollars from the airport to Taipei Main Station – way much cheaper than the 1,500 needed for the private car.

I’m staying at the same hotel, but my room now is much smaller. It was only about three-fourths the size of our room last month.

But at least the bathroom wall isn’t opaque this time around.

3 thoughts on “Day 1: Flew from Manila to Taipei; dealt with long lines everywhere

Leave a Reply

