Behaved well at the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel

_20170604_125319
Entrance ticket

(September 16, 2016) I prefer exploring places on my own, but I do recognize there are times when I will need the assistance of a tour guide. The Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel in the Vatican are among those places. Not only are they large – they are also religious sites. I want to make sure that someone will be there to tell me what I can and can’t do, and where to go and what to look at. Because of that, I had booked a guided tour long before I came to Europe for a two-week trip.

The tour cost me 32 euros. It includes the full ticket price of 16 euros and the payment of 10.50 euros for the tour guide.

DSC_0735

DSC_0736

DSC_0739
The Belvedere Apollo
dsc_0741.jpg
Laocoon and His Sons
DSC_0748
The Belvedere Torso

DSC_0760

DSC_0763

DSC_0764
Jesus never takes His eyes off you, the tour guide told us

DSC_0766

DSC_0772

DSC_0775

DSC_0776

DSC_0780

The last part of the roughly two-hour tour was the visit to the Sistine Chapel, where picture-taking is strictly prohibited. I didn’t take any; I wanted to be in my best behavior in the house of God. But of course, that prohibition didn’t prevent a few tourists from secretly taking pictures of the Sistine Chapel ceiling, particularly the iconic The Creation of Adam fresco painted by Michelangelo.

DSC_0755

5 thoughts on “Behaved well at the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel

Leave a Reply

